Apple Upside Down Pumpkin Cake

It’s been crazy, snowy up here in Connecticut (and the rest of Northeast). We have had a snowstorm every single week for the last three weeks! Unfortunately, we have had exactly ONE snow day. So, for the other two snowstorms, we trudged through the snow to classes and meetings and whatnot, trying not to slip down and die in the snow (I know, I know, a little hyperbole there).

IMG_0536

Anyways, yesterday, I planned a dinner with a couple of friends, where I promised to bring dessert. Instead of having it at my house so I can avoid walking outside, I chose the midpoint location for everyone. The chosen apartment is about a 10-15 minute walk, straight downhill (which means very slippery and an upward hill when I walked back home). Thankfully, I made it there safely without falling down. To be perfectly honest, had I slipped and fell, I don’t know if I’d try to save the cake or let go of it make sure I don’t break anything—I’ll probably save the cake and end up breaking my neck or something.

The cake was a success though. My friend screamed, “Oh no, I can’t stop!” right after he took his first bite. The cake is very moist and a little dense, which makes it sturdy enough to hold the slices of apple. You can bake this with a cast-iron skillet if you want and heat up water and brown sugar straight in the pan (which saves a dish to wash!). I used a 9-inch cake pan and used parchment paper at the bottom for extra insurance. This cake is perfect for a little post-dinner treat with a cup of coffee or as a breakfast cake the next morning (after all, it’s a good reason to get out of bed!).

IMG_0539


Apple Upside Down Pumpkin Cake

adapted from Banana Blueberry Upside Down Banana Cake

For bottom of the pan:
¼ cup brown sugar
1 tbs water
1-2 apples, cored and sliced

For the pumpkin cake:
¼ cup oil
½ cup applesauce
1 cup pumpkin puree
1 large egg, lightly beaten
¼ cup molasses
¼ cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup whole wheat flour
½ cup AP Flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg
½ tsp salt

Heat up the brown sugar and water in a saucepan, until it becomes a slush of glorious brown sugar. Spread on a greased 9-inch pan (it doesn’t have to fully cover the bottom of the pan). Arrange the apple slices on the bottom of the pan. You can be as creative as you want with this!

Preheat oven to 325F. To make the pumpkin cake, mix all the wet ingredients in a big bowl: oil, applesauce, pumpkin puree, egg, molasses, sugar, vanilla extract. Make sure everything is well-mixed. Stir in the rest of the ingredients (including the salt) carefully as to not overmix the batter.

Spread the cake mixture on top of the sliced apples. Bake for 30-35 minutes. Wait for about 15-20 minutes for the cake to settle down before turning the cake upside down onto a cake plate to uncover the beautiful cake!

IMG_0537

 

