Yogurt Bread

This winter break is my first time staying on campus and not seeing my whole family for the holidays, except for my little brother who goes to college in Michigan. I know, I know, I’ve mentioned that before but I just cannot help myself. Christmas is a lot about traditions and I guess this time should just be about making new ones. I have been busying myself with baking and looking at jobs to apply for. Sigh.

IMG_0363

Speaking of, how were your Christmases? I enjoyed a very relaxed Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. My brother and I spent all Christmas Eve eating treats and drinking boozy, milky drinks (Eggnog! Irish Bailey’s! Woot woot.) while watching Christmas movies on Christmas Eve. Yesterday on Christmas, I spent a good chunk of the day cooking for me, my brother and couple other friends. We also Skyped with our family back in Indonesia (who apparently spent a pretty Christmas-less Christmas without me to bother them with Christmas spirit-y activities).

 

IMG_0355

The appetizer last night was a way of using up my yogurt. I made this], which tasted like heavenly pizza but with bread front and center. Now, this post is not on the appetizer itself, I made a yogurt bread a couple days before that, of which I used for the appetizer.

This bread is soft and pillowy, but a little dense. It makes great for toasts in the morning with a slather of butter or Nutella (how my brother does his every breakfast). The bread also has a slight of tang to it, which I am guessing comes from the yogurt. Oh, I also subbed normal yogurt (instead of Greek yogurt) and milk as the wash (instead of egg). I didn’t have any leftovers but I can see this bread making french toast, soaking up all the milk-eggy mixture.

IMG_0369

Yogurt Bread

adapted from OnoNomopia

2 packed tbsp brown sugar

¼ cup water, hot to touch (~110 F)

2¼  tsp dry active yeast

⅔ cup yogurt

⅓ cup milk

2 tbsp butter

1 tsp sea salt

3 cups AP flour

2 tbsp milk (for the wash)

 

Mix water and brown sugar. Sprinkle the yeast over the water and let it sit for about 5 minutes, or until bubbly.

Meanwhile, mix yogurt and milk together. Use half of the yogurt mixture and combine this half with about 1½ cup of flour and yeast mixture. Stir until consistent and then let it rise for about 30 minutes (or doubled in size).

While waiting, melt the butter and let it cool for a minute. Mix the slightly cooled butter with the rest of the yogurt mixture. After the dough has risen, stir in the rest of the yogurt/butter mixture and the rest of the flour. Stir with a wooden spoon before turning to knead it until smooth and elastic, about 8-10 minutes.

Let the dough rise for about an hour in a greased bowl, covered.

Punch the dough down and shape the dough into your desired shape (I just made two small round loaves). Let it rise again in a baking sheet (the pan you’re going to use to baking it with) for about 45 minutes, covered.

Preheat the oven to 425F.

Once the dough has finished rising, brush with milk and score the top of the bread. Bake the dough for 10 minutes before turning down the oven temperature to 350F and then bake for another 30 minutes. Once the bread is done, take the bread out, let it cool and then devour away!


IMG_0376

