Slow-cooker Apple Butter

Every time Camille and I realize how dark it is outside when it is only 4pm, we freak out.

IMG_0272      

I personally don’t think I will ever get used to it! As much as I love Fall, the shorter days always creep me out a little. Being from Indonesia, I am used to the sun rising and setting at exactly 6, no matter what. I remember freshman year when I was still new to the early nighttime, I would take a nap at 3.30pm, just to wake up to complete darkness. I would wake up, panicking, thinking how many days I have slept through. Thankfully throughout the years, I have learned to either don’t take a nap when the sun is setting or turn on a dim light before I nap.

Anyways, after calming down about the early darkness, I always start craving for the deep and spiced flavorings in my food. If it’s savory food, I want a rich and bold, pronounced flavors that will comfort me into contentment. If it’s something sweet, I want it to have a deep flavor with spices coming through the food. This apple butter is the perfect representation of what Fall is: dark, full with spices and deeply flavored.

This apple butter is easy to make! You can throw it in the slow cooker before you go to bed, wake up, finish the process and put them in jars. Spread them on toast, put a dollop on pancakes or swirl them in your oatmeal!

IMG_0263 IMG_0266 IMG_0269

Slow-cooker Apple Butter

makes about 3-4 cups

14 medium apples (mix of anything you like)

¾ cup sugar (I used a mix of coconut sugar + brown sugar)

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp cloves

½ tsp nutmeg

Cut and core the apples into big wedges. You can peel the apple skin if you want but since everything is going to blended anyways, you can get away with unpeeled apples. Throw them into the slow cooker.

Sprinkle all the sugar and spices on top and mix as best as you can without spilling out the apples. Cook on low for 10 hours.

After 10 hours, stir the mixture a little bit before blending the heck out of the apple butter. You can use an immersion blender if you have one or you can do what I did, which was to painstakingly blend them in batches with the Magic Bullet. Anyhow, to reduce the mixture into a thick, buttery texture, cook with the lid open for about 2 hours. Stir occasionally during this 2-hour. You can cook it longer to get a thicker texture.

After the 2-hour is done, divide the apple butter into jars and is ready to use! Don’t forget to keep them refrigerated.

IMG_0274

