Banana Coffee Cake

When I first came home to Indonesia for my first long winter break, I did not expect to feel like a weight has just been lifted off my shoulder when I saw my parents. Although college is still somewhat a bubble, there is still a significant amount responsibilities that you take as opposed to living at home with your parents (assuming you live on your college campus). Being at home makes me realize how dependable my parents are and how much I used to rely on them.

IMG_0338

Why the sudden musing on parents and responsibilities? Because my mom and brother just got here all the way from Indonesia and I still got that sigh of relief when I saw them. College honestly gives me a new appreciation for my family (even though we have always been close with each other) and their arrival here definitely calls for a nice brunch-y type of dish (because to me, brunch = celebration).

This cake is for all the banana lovers out there, who wake up in the morning, want a homemade breakfast cake and need it quick! This cake will take you well under an hour, which is always a plus for me. The cake itself is moist and packed with banana flavors. The streusel topping takes the cake to the top without being overbearing. I know that some people really like the streusel topping to be real thick but this topping is more baked into the cake than being a layer of its own.

IMG_0342

Banana Cake
¼ cup oil
½ cup applesauce
3 very ripe bananas
1 large egg, lightly beaten
⅓ cup maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup whole wheat flour
½ cup AP Flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp cloves
½ tsp salt

Streusel Topping

⅓ cup pecan, chopped
3 tbs brown sugar
1 tbs flour
2 tbs butter, softened

IMG_0348

Preheat oven to 400F. Grease a 9-inch pan (or just slip in parchment paper because that’s what us slackers do!).

Mix all the streusel topping ingredients with a fork or your hand until it forms a coarse mixture. Set aside.

Dump the oil and applesauce in a bowl. Mash in the bananas into the oil mixture while preserving some of the chunks (I like having banana chunks in my banana breads). Continue to mix in the egg, maple syrup and vanilla extract.

In a separate smaller bowl, whisk together the rest of the ingredients until well-mixed. Fold in the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients (the oil, banana, egg mixture). Make sure to not overmix it.

Carefully, pour the banana cake batter onto the prepared loaf pan. Get the streusel topping mixture and slowly spread the streusel topping onto the batter as even as possible. Bake for about 20-30 minutes.

IMG_0351

