Fried Carrot Kale Fritters

These vegetable fritters need no lengthy introduction. Shredding veggies and mixing them into a pancake batter is a tasty way to use up stragglers and leftovers lurking in your refrigerator. And being fried and tasty, I can delude my family into thinking that I really do eat my vegetables. You could easily use other vegetables in this recipe. Zucchini would work easily, if shredded and wrung out with a kitchen towel to rid of the excess water. Leftover mashed potatoes, hash browns, and finely chopped, cooked broccoli would be tasty as well. Instead of kale, you could use spinach instead. I happened to have some old carrots and a new bunch of kale in the house.

Kale leaf

The amount of oil to use for frying will ultimately be up to your preference. The recipe suggests a meager three tablespoons, but my pictures shamelessly show otherwise. Three tablespoons will leave your fritters with a crisp exterior with a respectable amount of oil. I was generous with my vegetable oil and produced crunchy fritters in return. However, I’m sure my decadent frying methods may have erased any good benefits from eating the veggies. Ah well.

 

Kale Carrot Fritters

Makes about eight 2-inch fritters
Adapted from 100 Days of Real Food

3 cups shredded carrot and ribboned kale (will vary on how big your vegetables are; I ended up using three medium carrots and two big leaves of kale)
½ cup whole wheat flour*, and possibly more as needed
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons milk, and possibly more as needed
1 teaspoon table salt
½ teaspoon ground black pepper
½ teaspoon garlic powder
Vegetable oil, for frying

 *All-purpose is a-okay here as well.

Toss the shredded vegetables with the flour, salt, pepper, and garlic powder in a large bowl, making sure to cover every bit. Add in the milk and eggs (you may beat them together first if you wish) to the floury bits and mix together. The end result should just come together in a nice clumpy batter. If you find that your fritter batter is too watery, add a pinch more flour. If it is too dry instead, add a splash of milk instead. The batter shouldn’t be loose like pancake batter — the vegetable bits should clump together fairly well.

Heat three tablespoons of oil in your favorite heavy skillet on medium heat. (So uh, I didn’t just use three tablespoons in my pictures; I really wanted them to be crispy so I added enough oil to cover the bottom of my pan. If you want to do same, I won’t tell anyone.)

Spoon the fritters in with two spoons, as you would with cookie batter. As it touches the oil, gently press down on your batter to flatten it out to a 1/2-inch thick mound. Fry about three or four at a time, for about four minutes on each side.

Once cooked, let the fritters rest on a rack or a plate covered with a paper towel.

Serve as is, with sour cream or some soy sauce. I recommend these for lunch, for a light dinner with soup or salad, or perhaps as afternoon nibbles.


 

Combining the veggies and dry ingredients.

Frying and the crispy fritters!

