Slow-cooked Pulled Pork Adobo

My family would attest to the fact that I am pretty conscious in my budgeting and I try to keep a tight leash in spending my money (I think they would actually call me cheap sometimes, which is kind of true, I guess). Except when it comes to food and everything that has to do with it. Once, I meant to buy either an 8 by 8 inch pan or a 9 by 13 inch pan but ended up buying both AND two cake pans. Say. No. More.

SONY DSC

Now, there are lots and lots of really good slow cooker recipes right now, especially since people are not looking to turn on their oven. Of course that is a huge temptation for me to get a new slow cooker but I actually managed to restrain myself and find my ways around it. I found out that my rice cooker does not actually turn to warm mode after a certain amount of time, unlike other rice cookers, so I experimented with it by using it as a slow cooker and it worked! I let it cook for about 7 hours, shredded it and then let it cook for another hour. The pork is moist and flavorful. It is even better the day after so don’t worry about any leftovers!

I adapted this recipe from the chicken adobo by adding a little bit more soy sauce and trying out the peppercorn that I have, instead of the black pepper that is used in the chicken adobo. Also, I can imagine using pork butt or pork shoulder for this recipe, since those cuts are even fattier and would deliver even richer flavors. I serve this with jasmine rice and chopped scallion to stay true to the Asian flavors but you can definitely serve this on a bun as a sandwich or in a tortilla.

SONY DSC

Slow-cooked Pulled Pork Adobo

can serve 7-8 people depending on how much you eat

I also used the methods from Skinnytaste.com but all the proportions in this recipe are adjusted from our own chicken adobo recipe

1.75 lb pork loin center cut roast

½ cup soy sauce

½ cup white vinegar

½ cup water

1 tsp white peppercorn

2 or 3 bay leaves

5 to 10 cloves of garlic (depending on how much you like them!)

cut scallion for garnish

 

Put everything in your rice cooker (but the scallions) and let it cook for 6-8 hours or until very tender. Mine got really tender after 7 hours.

Putting all the ingredients in the rice cooker

Putting all the ingredients in the rice cooker

After 7 hours...

After 7 hours…

Shred the pork and then let it cook for another hour. This is so that the flavors simmer into the meat. Take out the bay leaves after it finished cooking, sprinkle some cut scallions and savor it!

After shredded, let it cook for an hour...

After shredded, let it cook for an hour…

