Buzzed Brownies with Macadamia Nuts

IMG_0341

When one of my roommates brought home a huge Kahlua bottle, Camille and I instantly thought up a thousand recipes to use up the Kahlua bottle. That was October last year. Until this day, there is still an almost full Kahlua bottle on my shelf. Now, this summer, I promised myself to buzz up some of my baked goods and have fun with it!

I got a boozy brownies recipe from Yummily Yours. I made a few changes though to the recipe. First of all, instead of vodka, I used Kahlua (of course!). I also added salt to enhance each flavor within the brownies. Furthermore, I added a bit of ground coffee since a little bit of coffee always highlights the deep, bitter tone that chocolate has. I also decreased the sugar and added cocoa powder to further emphasize the chocolate flavor.

The brownies came out as fudgy, chocolate-y with an underlying Kahlua flavor. I have never been a huge brownie fan (I know, I know, gasp!) but give me these brownies any day of the week and I’ll happily eat them!

Note: Pictures are courtesy to Eki and Janette, the two great photographers whom I’m trying to pick their brains on how to take great pictures!

IMG_0342

Brownies Kahlua Macadamia Nuts

Adapted from Yummily Yours

¾ cup chocolate chip (4.5 oz)

¾ cup (1½ stick) butter

1 ½ tsp instant coffee

½ cup brown sugar + ½ cup granulated sugar

¼ cup kahlua + 2 tbs kahlua

3 large eggs

¾ cup AP Flour

¼ cup cocoa powder + 2 tbs cocoa powder

½ tsp sea salt

¼ roughly chopped macadamia nuts (optional)

 

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Melt the chocolate chips and butter in a double-boiler*. Take the bowl off the stove and put in the instant coffee and stir it in until well-mixed. Mix in both sugars and whisk until well-combined. Pour in the kahlua into the mixture and make sure you mix it well.

Wait a little bit until the mixture has cooled off (or throw it into the freezer for a minute or two) before cracking the eggs into the mixture. This is to make sure that the eggs are not partially cooked when mixed in.

In a different bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients: the AP flour, the cocoa powder and the salt. Whisk in the dry ingredients mixture into the egg mixture. Fold in the macadamia nuts into the brownies batter.

Bake for about 25 minutes and test the doneness by inserting a toothpick.

*You can actually buy a double-boiler or you can also boil water with a small saucepan and then put a heat-proof bowl over it. The reason for this is because melting chocolate with direct heat can potentially burn the chocolate. You can also melt the chocolate + butter mixture with microwave but make sure to do that in 30 seconds intervals so as to not burn the chocolate.

IMG_0338

